The Cry Lounge
The Cry Lounge
people say Frances from Conversations With Friends by Sally Rooney is annoying, sadly I feel like I am her most of the time - Book Review #2
0:00
-20:22

people say Frances from Conversations With Friends by Sally Rooney is annoying, sadly I feel like I am her most of the time - Book Review #2

writing styles, "annoying" characters + spicy scenes

get the book here: https://www.penguinrandomhouse.com/books/550263/conversations-with-friends-by-sally-rooney/

(3 stars - April 1st, 2023) this book left me hollow and craving. read this only for the oxford lecture i’ll attend about sally rooney and tbh, i might think i’m gonna re-read this one day.

rooted from the first sentence for nick & frances, so don’t try to argue with me about them. i’m loving them.

edit: !! this book reminds me a lot of frances ha!! has someone mentioned this before??

(5 stars - January 17th, 2024) re-read this book on my little Paris trip! Frances’ thoughts reminded me very much to my own occasionally when I first read this almost a year ago. Today, they actually were thoughts of mine and I couldn’t have re-read it at a better point. I’ve been reminded of her since September and I craved rereading it so much - I’m glad I’ve done it. I feel less alone in a world that calls her “annoying”. That was a point that confuses me. I’ve tried talking to people about her and everyone called her an “annoying” character. I was always hurt by that.

ps: this book is a way better re-read than first read!!

review from my goodreads

0 Comments
The Cry Lounge
The Cry Lounge
indie publishing studio by Bonnie Orbison
doors to our writing retreat from October 29th - December 3rd are open now!
thecrylounge.com/writing-retreat/